PUCON '23: Reflection and Learnings

PUCON '23: Reflection and Learnings

Recently, there was an event "PUCON '23" at PUCIT Old Campus where I participated in Web Hackathon.

Tech Stack:

I use Next JS for front-end and back-end APIs, Tailwind CSS & MongoDB.

Challenge:

We were given three pages where all requirements were written.

Long story short: We have to make a Dynamic Event Scheduler website. These are some of the key points:

  • A website where users can create events with title, description, date, poster etc.

  • Other users can join the event or add an event to their wishlist.

  • We have to implement secure login and registration.

  • A user feed where users can see other users' events

  • A user-friendly UI for users to Create, Edit or Delete an Event.

  • Search Filter for events by title, description, date etc.

  • Push Notifications & Emails to users when an event is created related to their interest.

First I thought of using Django as a back-end but I haven't practiced Django for the past 2-3 months so I decided to make this project with Next JS.

Here's the screenshot of the time that I spent on this project.

So I spent a total of 10 Hours on this project starting from 10:40 AM to 9:30 PM while the competition was of 11 Hours. The time that you are seeing in the screenshot was the time for coding excluding planning.

As this clearly states that I haven't wasted my time on other thing.

My Mistakes:

I was pretty happy with the final result as I missed 2 features. One is push notifications and the other is sending emails to users.

But after presenting it to judges, I thought, Nope, This is not enough for this competition. I should have done better on this project.
There were tiny mistakes that are being highlighted throughout the presentation. And I think this leads to mark deduction.

Moreover, I was not able to finish all of the requirements that were asked to do in this project.

The second thing that I think is the mistake is that I and my team started working on the project after doing some initial planning. We haven't brainstormed more ideas that we can implement in this project as we are free to implement our ideas if we have.

As I am writing this, many mistakes are coming to my HEAD that I shouldn't have done & I have learned a lot from them.

Let me say this to myself: THIS IS NOT YOUR BEST. YOU NEED TO WORK MORE ON YOUR SKILLSET IF WANT TO ACHIEVE WHAT YOU WANT. THIS IS NOT THE END.

Conclusion:

In the end, It was a great experience pushing my coding limits to do stuff that I haven't done before. I need to increase more temperature.
Let's end it on a positive note:

"I will surpass them all and become the greatest!, Mark my words—I, Psycho, will be the best!"

I have uploaded my project on my GitHub profile. In case you want to check it out, here is the link 😁:

https://github.com/HussnainAhmad1606/Event-Scheduler-PUCON-23

Maybe I will work on this project to complete it.

The website isn't live so you have to clone the project and run it locally.

That's it for this one.

See you in the next one ;-)

xx Psycho