Weekly Dev Journal - Episode # 05

Weekly Dev Journal - Episode # 05

·

4 min read

Hello & Welcome to the 5th episode of WEEKLY DEV JOURNAL 🎉

Hope you had a great week of learning & achieving Goals.

Let's start with this one.


Learnings

KSK Navigator:

I wrote an article (probably it was one of my first articles on this blog), where I participated in hackathon in LUMS (probably, it was my 2nd semester) where I worked & presented my idea of bus tracking application for my university.

You can read that article here if you want (adding it for reference), Click Here to Read.

I was unable to complete the project at that time, but later figured out a better approach to build it.

Later, I built the simple version with a map showing with different bus routes on the map with different markers indicating the stops.

after that, I stopped working on it. Maybe, It was not my priority or any other reason, but I stopped the development & work on other projects, and there was an urge to complete the project, & test it out whether it will work or not?

This week, I restarted that project, implemented my approach, I will talk about the complete process of it in separate article, but I was able to set it up and it was running on my local system.

Basic idea is: admin will share location of bus, Other users can see the location on same page, instead of seeing location on Whatsapp group, with different features like approximate time remaining to arrive at student stop etc.

Its almost completed, just need to test it in production & implementation of multiple routes is remaining (copy paste previous code 😁).

Azure Services:

This week, I also looked at azure and it's different services.

Particularly, I saw hosting of static & other web apps on azure.

I also made my very first VPS, Installed Ubuntu & Try to host my web apps on it. Throughout the process, I faced some errors but gradually fixed some of it.

Semester Mid Exams đŸ˜Ș:

I have mid exams next week, & I may focus on studying for exams rather than working on my ideas (again maybe).

So, maybe there's will be no episode of Weekly Dev Journal next week.

If I will have something worth share with you, I will definitely share it otherwise next week will be off.

Although, I have exam tomorrow, but instead of studying, I am writing this week's Journal, because a single sheet of paper can't decide my future (Sir Nadeem will laugh reading this 😊).


Psycho Ponderings

  • When was the last time you bought a product or service, because the founder is from IIT or because the founder hasn’t drawn a salary for the past six months or because the founder is going through depression? You couldn’t care less! No one cares a f**k about who you are

  • Congratulating an entrepreneur on raising funds is like congratulating a chef on buying vegetables.

  • No one knows all the answers. However, the best players that move the needle forward, know how to figure out solutions to complex problems

  • Build a team so strong that someone from outside doesn’t know who the boss is!


Book

This week, I finished reading "DO EPIC SHIT" by ANKUR WARIKOO.

Here are some of the takeaways from the book:

  • Passion is showing up to do the work, no matter how good you’re at it already.

  • How you handle yourself and your mental state during the times when everything is not a bed of roses, truly determines who you are.

  • Every problem in this world can be traced back to a point of miscommunication.

  • It takes effort to find love, It takes effort to feel fulfilled, It takes effort to be fit, It takes effort to be happy. Which is why most of us do not have love, fulfilment, happiness or fitness in our life.

  • Who you decide to spend your life with is One of the biggest decisions you will make in your life. Don’t take it lightly.

  • If you wish to be independent of your parents, while still respecting them as your parents, buy yourself financial freedom.

  • What we truly want to have are friends who are never jealous of what we have achieved, rather celebrate us for that!

  • Wanting to maintain a distance from someone you do not relate to any more doesn’t mean you don’t care about them. It just means you care about the relationship you have with yourself more than the one you have with them.

  • Perfection is when you do something with such finesse that people are left amazed at how you even did it.


That's it for this one.

Hope you like this episode.

You can share it with your friends.

You can also SUBSCRIBE to the newsletter and read more like this directly in your email inbox. You just need to enter email in section "Subscribe to my newsletter" down below. It's FREE

You can follow me on Twitter where I engage & post daily.

See you in the next one ;-)

-Psycho

Â