Weekly Dev Journal - Episode # 06

Weekly Dev Journal - Episode # 06

ยท

5 min read

Hello & Welcome to the 6th episode of WEEKLY DEV JOURNAL ๐ŸŽ‰

Hope you had a great week of learning & achieving Goals.

I am writing after 3 weeks so in this episode, I will try to cover everything.

Let's start with this one.


Learnings:

Front-end Web Dev 101 Workshop:

In previous month, I conducted a workshop on Front-end Development 101 where I share roadmap of becoming a front-end developer to participants.

This was the summary of it:

Front-End Web Dev Bootcamp:

Following the workshop on roadmap of Front-end development, Previous week, I conducted a 7-Days Bootcamp on front-end development.

It was great showing up everyday to talk about new thing.

We talked about HTML, CSS, JS & React JS then made a project to understand all of the concepts.

Then, we through a little competition on front-end development where we gave projects to participants and will pick one winner amongst them.

Yesterday was the deadline for the project submission and we got 100+ project submissions.

Now, we need to look at each of project one by one to pick winner ๐Ÿค”๐Ÿ˜

Working on project:

In previous months, I am having difficulty of focus on even one project at all.

Like, I use to code 5-7 hours and sometimes 10+ hours a day, but now I barely code for 1 Hours. I didn't feel of doing it at all. idk.

Like, I use to overthink a lot but that was fine. But, now its horrible feeling.

I procrastinated a lot in a specific milestone telling myself that I will work on it when I got the time.

Until, previous week, when I draw a whole roadmap on my notebook with features I want to implement on my project.

I got idea for this in my hostel room while talking to a friend and I immediately tell him the idea, he liked the idea & here we are working on it.

I will share the complete story of building it in the next article.

Newsletter:

This "Weekly Dev Journal" Is also type of newsletter where I share about my tech learnings & other different stuff. I try to post every week, but sometimes become too lazy to not post anything for 2-3 weeks. But, In background, this series is running in my mind 24/7.

I try to add everything relevant in this newsletter so I can also document it and it may help someone who is reading it on other screen.

I am thinking of starting another newsletter. This newsletter will be focused on only one specific thing at a time where maybe I will talk about my projects building, new learnings etc. I am still thinking at this step.

ML Challenge:

I have seen many coding challenges on Twitter & Linkedin. Most challenges are day challenges where person code for X amount of time everyday of Y days.

It is a good commitment to yourself to show up everyday. It's not easy as it require discipline and you will work on days when you are not feeling of doing any work at all.

Inspired by this, I am starting ML Challenge where I will try to learn new topics everyday about Machine learning and post in online.

I will pick Twitter to post about my progress. For now, this will be 30 days ML challenge but I will expand it if I want to.

I haven't setup any schedule of what I will learn. Maybe, today I will prepare something to get to know which thing to learn each day to get myself structured and more focused on this challenge.

Mix:

You know that feeling? when you have roadmap to follow to achieve dream. But there's something that is stopping you from start.

You want to work, even try to work but unable to focus for long time and again distracted by different platforms and your thoughts.

I think that because of fear of failing. That symptoms likely to come when deep inside, you have fear of failing. You want to give it a try, but you think what other people will think about you if you fail.

Everything you want is on the other side of the FEAR - Jack Canfield.

It's also not your mistake, because maybe in the past, things were not happened on your side & you are now afraid of even try anything new and don't want to lose now.


Psycho Ponderings

  • Time has slipped away. Your life is stolen. You tarried with trifles, victim of your folly.

    As time passes, as more of our life is lived, we accumulate more examples of trifles that occupy our time and attention, preventing progress.

  • The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now.

  • Will audience find your design good or not, is not in your hand, But making a good design is in your hand.

  • When one door of happiness closes, another opens; But often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one that has been opened for us.

  • Most of suicidal men are not mentally ill, they genuinely have a life that is no longer worth living.


Articles


Book

This week, I am currently reading "You're Too Good to Feel this Bad" by NATE DALLAS.


That's it for this one.

Hope you like this episode.

You can share it with your friends.

You can also SUBSCRIBE to the newsletter and read more like this directly in your email inbox. You just need to enter email in section "Subscribe to my newsletter" down below. It's FREE

You can follow me on Twitter where I engage & post daily.

See you in the next one ;-)

-Psycho

ย