Weekly Dev Journal - Episode # 10

Weekly Dev Journal - Episode # 10

Hello,

Welcome to the 10th Episode of Weekly Dev Journal. Here you will get some useful resources, interesting articles, and my learnings in the programming world.

Learnings:

I didn't work this week because of my EXAMS. I mostly read articles in my free time to get some knowledge.

Anyways, I did some work from Friday onwards. Let's talk about them. This is a long article than usual because here I wrote all my thoughts that came to my mind while writing this. So be patient, and read completely to understand.

1 - Starting my first App:

I had some app project ideas that I wanted to build but didn't get time or you can say I procrastinated a lot in this thing.

So what I did was I started working on my first app. On Friday, I installed all the necessary tools and software to get started building the app.

So far I have worked on the first screen of the app. Previously, I had made the design of the app in FIGMA already.

I decide to make the complete front end with dummy data. Then will make an API to get data from the database and show it to the front end. This is the high-level idea of working on this project. Now let's write some more details about it.

Step # 01: The first step is designing the app. I completed this step almost 80% as I have designed all screens in FIGMA. I just need to design more elements to complete this step.

Step # 02: The second step would be to create an API that will help me get user data from the database. I am planning to use NEXT JS to make API, this will also help me in creating a web app in the future. I have to think of all endpoints that I need to create.

Step # 03: The third step would be to get user data and show it in the UI.

Now there are very minor details that I have in my mind for this app but I will cover all of them in a separate article.

These are some of the steps that I have in my mind. Now I wrote all the above steps roughly. The steps may change when I will implement them In Sha ALLAH.

Now while writing this article, there are many features that I want to implement in this app, and If I implement them all, then App would never be published. So What I will do is Make the MVP of the app with minimum features and upload it on PLAY STORE to get some feedback. Then I will implement features afterward. I think this is a good approach to get some feedback from users by uploading MVP and then implementing more features later.

2 - Start Tweeting my Learnings:

The other thing that I did was set up my Twitter profile. I made the banner and change the avatar. The avatar is not good as it is not me in the avatar so I will change in it the future. I also posted some tweets about the making of my current app project.

The reason I set up my Twitter profile was to post about my progress in making my projects. There is a whole community of BUILD IN PUBLIC that can help you grow your project. So I decided to post about progress. This will motivate me to keep going and my project will get some recognition if any of my tweets go viral.

You can follow me on Twitter :-) Click Here

3 - My Coding Project:

If you are reading this series of WEEKLY DEV JOURNAL from EPISODE # 03**,** you know that I have been working on a project as a part of my INTERNSHIP. This project has helped me learn NEXT JS. I haven't worked on this project for the past week because of my exams. Now I am free, My first work would be to deploy that project as early as possible.

Articles:

These are some articles that I have read and you can read too:

Useful Resources:

Hope you like this episode. Make sure to share it with your programming friends. You can also give your valuable feedback by commenting below.

See you in the Next Episode :-)

Hussnain Ahmad aka Psycho Coder